Another Outdoor Goal Down…

So I know it has been awhile since I have updated my blog, but I am finally back and plan to post more regular updates in the future. Now on to the good stuff…

We have been having unbelievable weather so far this spring here in Northeast Ohio. Warm temperatures, not much rain, and generally steady weather which is pretty unusual to say the least.

However, you won’t hear me complaining. That’s for sure. The great weather has given me a great opportunity to attack my outdoor goals for this year and has also made my pursuit of my goals that much more enjoyable.

To read about my outdoor goals for this year, go here.

So after tackling my first big challenge and goal of filling my spring turkey tag, it was time to start targeting my next goals. The most obvious one to start working on was catching the three pound or bigger bass. However, I felt like that was going to me one of my toughest goals considering that I have been bass fishing for as long as I can remember and have yet to achieve this goal.

Taking advantage of the wonderful spring weather, I hit my favorite fishing hole for the second time on May 2. I expected a fairly quiet day of fishing and was just planning on maybe catching a couple small fish and just sort of shaking the rust off of my fishing skills.

On my first cast of the day, I threw my favorite weightless purple rubber worm out in front of the small dock at the pond I was fishing. The lure was only in the water for a second or two before a bass inhaled it. I could tell right away that it was a good sized bass.

The fight didn’t last long and after a close call at the bank of the pond, I landed the bass. I have caught a ton of bass in my life and I knew right away that this one was big. I grabbed my scale and sure enough that fish topped out at 3 pounds and 3 ounces. My second outdoor goal of the year was completed!

I never expected to have completed two of my goals this early in the year but could not be happier about it. Check out the picture of the bass below and look for more posts soon!

pb-bass

Leave a Reply

