Spring is around the corner…

Spring is almost here. Even though it is still hard to tell when you walk outside here in Northern Ohio, what with the still cold temperatures and the ever looming threat of another big snowfall, but the season is drawing closer whether we believe it or not.

Now I’m not saying that the first day of spring in Ohio signifies some magical stop to winter weather. More often than not, it takes until about mid-April for it to feel safe saying that it won’t snow again for awhile, at least not until (hopefully) October. However, every year without fail, the weather does make a change for the better around here and I for one could not be more excited.

The return of spring not only signifies warmer weather and the promise of summer, but also the return of three of my biggest passions in life. Those passions are baseball, turkey hunting, and bass fishing. After a winter of accumulating new gear that the accumulating snow outside prevented the use of and digesting every tiny bit of information available on the subjects, there is nothing better than finally enjoying those passions again.

I’m already counting down the days to when the Cleveland Indians will open the season against the Toronto Blue Jays, to when I’ll be in the woods at 4 in the morning trying to call in a gobbler, and to when I’ll be trying to land another trophy bass.

Spring can’t come soon enough!

2 thoughts on “Spring is around the corner…

  1. “Those passions are baseball, turkey hunting, and bass fishing.”
    I can’t say that I’ve ever hunted turkey, but baseball and fishing are constantly on my mind this time of the year! Of course its snowing right now in Boston, but thanks to the internet I can get my up-to-the minute updates on what my beloved Red Sox are doing in Florida right now, and I can even shop for new tackle and rods on Amazon to boot! Here’s wishing your Indians luck – the biggest mistake the Red Sox ever made, short of selling Babe Ruth, was kicking Francona to the curb. Classless and counter-productive to say the least – he was one of my favorite sports figures bar none… enjoy the hell out of him, he’s one of a kind.

  2. Well now I have to ask, what type of fishing do you do? I’ll fish for anything, but bass and catfish are my main targets.

    I am total agreement about Francona. I think it may be the best coach hiring in Cleveland sports history. You would have to go a long ways back to find someone else to even make an argument with on that. I think he was out biggest acquisition even thought we got Swisher and Bourn as well.

    Thanks for the good luck, but I’m not sure I can return it. I’ve never been a huge fan of Boston sports. I still can’t believe you guys took the ’07 ALCS from us after we had that 3-1 lead. Still haunts me because it was a better series than the World Series ended up being in my opinion. Let’s face it, whoever won the ALCS was going to win it all. I’ll say this…good luck in the AL East this season.

Leave a Reply

